Leadership Team

Leadership Team

We are lucky to have a team of amazing people who help lead and support Scouting across the District. Please get in touch with any of the members of the team or for general enquiries please contact us.
Ryan Swailes
District Lead volunteer

Ryan started Scouting at the age of 8.  He has been through all sections, and several groups. Ryan started in Lowry as an Assistant Scout Leader at 43rd Salford, before being appointed as the District Youth Commissioner. After 6 months as Youth Commissioner, he was appointed as the Deputy District Commissioner supporting Elizabeth Samson in running the District.  In July 2019 Elizabeth stepped down as DC, and Ryan was appointed as DC in October 2019.  You will often see Ryan with his “perfect hair”, and a clipboard or folder in hand.  Ryan’s professional background is in teaching, where he teaches mathematics in a secondary school. 

Josh Macdonald
Support Team Leader

Josh started Scouting at the age of 6 and has progressed through every section in Scouting, as a member of Whalley Scout and Guide Group and Clitheroe District Scout. Aged 16, he became the Deputy County Youth Commissioner for East Lancashire Scouts, where he focussed on Youth Programme and Adult Support. He moved to Lowry to attend the University of Salford where he studies Drama and Creative Writing after which he wants to develop work with Drama Therapy.

Ben Beaver
Support Team Member
Michelle Rowlands
Programme Team Leader

Michelle is Beaver Section Leader and Assistant Scout Section Leader at 43rd Salford. She has only been involved in the Scouting movement since 2018 but was involved in Girl Guiding when she was younger. Michelle enjoys photography and will often be seen with camera in hand recording those special moments or achievements for our young people to look back on as they make their journey through Scouting.

James Samson
Activities Team Member
Wes Buckley
Activities Team Member
Courtney Pope
Programme Team Member
Tony Rice
Programme Team Member
Robert Hambelton
Programme Team Member

Justin McDonnell
Volunteer Development Team Leader

Justin first started Scouting when he joined Cubs at the 88th Salford at the age of 8. He progressed through Scouts, Venture Scouts and in 1990 became a Scout Leader. Justin is also a member of the Executive Committee. These roles take up a lot of time, but Justin thoroughly enjoys them all, especially seeing young people progress as a result of their Scouting membership. Justin’s professional background is a physics/science teacher and is now a Governor and exam invigilator at the secondary school that he taught at for 27 years.

Ann Salt
Volunteer Development Team Member
Luke Turner
District Youth Lead
James Seddon
14-25 Team Leader

Lowry District Board of Trustees

The Lowry District Board of Trustees exists to support the District Commissioner in meeting the responsibilities of the appointment and to provide support for Scout Groups and Explorer Units.

The Board of Trustees consists of:

  • Paul Wilson – District Chair
  • Ryan Swailes – District Commissioner
  • Sharmila Clarke – District Treasurer
  • Joshua Macdonald – District Secretary
  • James Seddon – District Explorer Scout Commissioner
  • Luke Turner – District Youth Commissioner
  • Adela Ramsbottom – Group Scout Leader (24th Swinton)
  • Martin Maynard – Group Treasurer (43rd Salford)
  • Lynn Harman – Parent Representative
  • Steve Woodcock – Group Scout Leader (3rd Pendlebury)
  • James Samson – Representative (82nd Salford)
  • Justin McDonnell – District Training Manager
  • Ann Salt – Vice President and Appointments chair
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls